In June 2015, City leadership through its Executive Committee (EXCO) supported and endorsed a new Memorandum of Agreement (MOA) with the following institutions of higher learning:
 
These include:
 
 
Contact Persons:
• Mangosuthu University of Technology (MUT)
- Prof. Zodwa Dlamini dlaminiz@mut.ac.za
• University of Kwazulu Natal (UKZN)
- Prof. Urmilla Bob bobu@ukzn.ac.za
- Prof. Deresh Ramjugernath (Ramjuger@ukzn.ac.za)
• Durban University of Technology (DUT)
- Prof. Sibu Moyo moyos@dut.ac.za
- Prof. Faizal Bux) faizalb@dut.ac.za

• University of South Africa (UNISA)
- Prof Lessing Labuschagne  llabus@unisa.ac.za
• Human Sciences Research Council (HSRC) and
- Ms Shirin Motala smotala@hsrc.ac.za
- Dr Chris Desmond cdesmond@hsrc.ac.za

• University of Zululand (UNIZULU)
- Prof. Kunene kunenen@unizulu.ac.za
- Prof Nhlanhla BW. Mlitwa MlitwaN@unizulu.ac.za